Miami-Dade County will impose a curfew and close casinos and other venues due to a growth in Covid-19 cases.

Miami-Dade County will impose a 10pm to 6am curfew and close casinos, bowling alleys, and strip clubs ahead of Independence Day tomorrow after reports of 10,000 new Covid-19 cases in the county.

Announcing the new measures, Mayor Carlos Gimenez said: “I agree with my medical advisers that young people and their parents are not taking seriously the New Normal rules. [The curfew] is meant to stop people from venturing out and hanging out with friends in groups, which has been shown to be spreading the virus rapidly.”

Dr. Mark Supino, a physician at Jackson Health System in Miami, said the growth in Covid-19 cases was related to the policy of early reopening promoted by Gimenez and other Republican leaders such as Governor Ron DeSantis. Non-essential businesses in the country began opening as early as May 18.

On July 2, Mayor Carlos A. Gimenez joined SURGE teams in Liberty City to discuss strategies for tackling the rise in COVID-19 cases.

Miami-Dade County is a county in the southeastern part of the U.S. state of Florida. According to a 2019 census report, the county had a population of 2,716,940, making it the most populous county in Florida and the seventh-most populous county in the United States. It is also Florida’s third largest county in terms of land area, with 1,946 square miles (5,040 km2). The county seat is Miami, the principal city in South Florida.

Miami-Dade County is one of the three counties in South Florida that make up the Miami metropolitan area, which was home to an estimated 6,198,782 people in 2018.

The county is home to 34 incorporated cities and many unincorporated areas. The northern, central and eastern portions of the county are heavily urbanized with many high-rise buildings along the coastline, including South Florida’s central business district, Downtown Miami. Southern Miami-Dade County includes the Redland and Homestead areas, which make up the agricultural economy of the region. Agricultural Redland makes up roughly one third of Miami-Dade County’s inhabited land area, and is sparsely populated, a stark contrast to the densely populated, urban northern portion of the county.

The county also includes portions of two national parks. To the west it extends into the Everglades National Park and is populated only by a Miccosukee tribal village. East of the mainland, in Biscayne Bay, is Biscayne National Park and the Biscayne Bay Aquatic Preserves.

Articolul precedentRank Group to reopen English bingo clubs tomorrow
Articolul următorThe authorities in California closes cardrooms back again